Article on Gordon Lam about Gallants


My bro bought the DVD to this film and Im going to watch it tonight. Ive only watched a bit (a few minutes) and found it to be funny ^^. Then I went to HK and watched the 30th HK Film Awards (live, in front of the HK Cultural centre where it was being held) and this film took the Best Film award, plus 2 supporting actor & actress awards and a Best score, with nominations in Best Director(s), Best screenplay, Best Action Choreography!

At that time (in HK), I didnt know that this film is produced by Gordon Lam and funded by Andy Lau! I was so surprised when Teddy Robin (Best Supporting Actor, the first to get awarded) thanked Gordon Lam and Andy Lau. All the cast and crew of the movie were seated together. I saw Teddy Robin and Susan Shaw in the red carpet but I didnt remember seeing Gordon Lam so knowing him to be attending was another surprise :P.

The reviews have been good for this film and if you happen to come across this film, maybe you should give it a try ^^

Gordon’s gallant boss
By RACHAEL BOON

Actor Gordon Lam says Andy Lau funded his film Gallants so that he need not go out to raise money.

EVERYONE should have a boss like Hong Kong superstar Andy Lau. So says actor-turned-producer Gordon Lam Ka Tung, whose low-budget Gallants was named Best Film at the 30th Hong Kong Film Awards recently.

With a hearty chuckle, the 43-year-old recalls Lau telling him not to go public to raise funds for the movie.

“Andy said I would get scolded if the movie did not do well,” says Lam, who was in Singapore last Sunday to present the acting honours at the Star Awards. “So I told him that he could foot the bill instead. He said yes and we often tell him, ‘Thank you, boss, thank you.’ Every cent spent on the film belongs to him.”

Made with HK$5mil (RM1.85mil) from Lau’s Focus Films and directed by Clement Cheng and Kwok Chi Kin, Gallants is the story of two old gongfu artists who try to stop the sale of their training school, under the leadership of their gongfu master who suddenly wakes up from a 30-year-long coma.

It is shot in the style of classic Hong Kong action comedies from the 1960s and 70s and features veterans from that era such as Teddy Robin and Susan Shaw.

Lam decided to produce it after hearing only an impromptu verbal pitch from the directors.

“Andy asked me if I was confident and I said yes. A lot of other people asked me if I was afraid or worried about box-office results, but I told them that the movie is about moving forward and I believe in this, too. I believed in the movie and the actors,” he says.

Gallants has since become a cult favourite, winning the best supporting actor categories for Robin and Shaw at the Hong Kong Film Awards, as well as Best Film at the 17th Hong Kong Film Critics Society Awards.

The spirit in and behind the movie is what Lam wants to see in Hong Kong, that its film industry rests in the hands of its own people.

He is not one to shirk responsibility or blame the economy for the less vibrant scene. Acknowledging that the Hong Kong film industry is not what it used to be, he says: “We are the ones who didn’t give ourselves a chance. But through this film, we hope to show other film companies that Hong Kong movies can be made this way.”

While he does think that in the last two years, the industry has been growing and seeing more new directors and faces, he says he does not know what the future holds.

“I haven’t had enough experience to be able to comment but I hope to work with different people, both actors and those behind the camera. I also want more people to really tell us their stories.”

Despite striking gold at his first attempt as producer, he is not giving up acting anytime soon. “I’m still an actor, I’ve never stopped being an actor. Although it’s very hard to be one, I really like being in this industry,” he says.

This is despite his lack of leading-man looks, which he says is no hindrance to his career at all.

“I still get my leading roles. Of course there will be producers who think that I’m not suitable for some roles, regardless of looks or acting skills. What is more important than looks is how long you can stay in this industry.”

Known for his solid acting chops, he graduated from Hong Kong broadcasting company TVB’s 15th Artiste Training Class in 1988 and turned in memorable performances, particularly in the 2001 drama serial Country Spirit, where he played a filial underdog who works in a winery and triumphs against the odds.

He is also well known as the convincing mole in Infernal Affairs (2002) whom Lau killed at the end of the movie.

Lam, who is now contracted to Lau’s artiste management arm, Focus Artistes, would like it best if you remembered his roles instead of calling him a star.

“Knowing my name is not important at all as I don’t need to be remembered as an actor. Instead, I want the names of my characters to be remembered because it shows that the audiences have watched my work and that my roles have made an impact on them.” – The Straits Times, Singapore/Asia News Network

Source: Thestar.com.my

Related reviews: Twitchfilm and LoveHKFilm

Leave a Reply

