11月17日レッスン(I3-161)


The week’s lesson re-cap:

  • Using “itadakimasu” and “kudasaimasu”
  • Using “yarimasu”
  • Using “~te itadakimashita/kudasaimashita/yarimashita”

Using “itadakimasu” and “kudasaimasu”

Back in I1, we have learnt how to use give/receive.

For example,

わたし は 友達 に 鞄 を もらいました。
I received a bag from my friend.

友達 は わたし に 鞄 を くれました。
My friend gave me a bag.

* 友達 (ともだち)、 鞄 (かばん)

Now we learnt how to express give/receive when referring to people of higher status than us. People like our bosses, our customers, etc. Instead of using moraimasu/kuremasu, we use itadakimasu/kudasaimasu.

For example,

わたし は 社長 に 鞄 を いただきました。
I received a bag from my director.

社長 は わたし に 鞄 を くださいました。
My director gave me a bag.

* 社長 (しゃちょう)

The moraimasu/kuremasu only applicable to our peers (eg friends), when referring to family (including father, mother, elder brother, etc).

Examples:

先生 は わたし に 珍しい 腕時計 を くださいました。
My teacher gave me an unusual wristwatch.

わたし は 先生 に 珍しい 腕時計 を いただきました。
I received a dictionary from my teacher.

* 先生 (せんせい)、珍しい (めずらしい)、 腕時計 (うでどけい)

Using “yarimasu”

yarimasu is used when we want to express giving to people of lower status than us like our younger siblings, plants and animals.

わたし は 花 に 水 を やりました。
I gave water to the plant. (I watered the plant)

* 花 (はな)、 水 (みず)

わたし は 妹 に 玩具 を やりました。
I gave a toy to my sister.

* 妹 (いもうと)、 玩具 (おもちゃ)

犬 に 水 を やる のを 忘れました。
I have forgotten to give water to my dog.

* 犬 (いぬ)、 忘れました (わすれました)

Using “~te itadakimashita/kudasaimashita/yarimashita”

Back in I1, we also learnt of using the te-form with moraimasu/kuremasu to express the notion that someone is doing us a favour/help. We learnt this week on using the te-form with itadakimasu/kudasaimasu/yarimasu to express similar notion.

わたし は 先生 に 漢字 を 教えて いただきました。
I was taught Kanji by my teacher.

先生 は わたし に 漢字 を 教えて くださいました。
My teacher taught me Kanji.

* 漢字 (かんじ)、 教えて (おしえて)

わたし は 先生 に 車 で 送って いただくました。
I was sent (home) by car by my teacher.

先生 は わたし を 車 で 送って くださいました。
My teacher sent me (home) by car.

* 車 (くるま)、 送って (おくって)

わたし は 課長 の 奥さん に 東京タワー へ つれて いって いただきました。
I was taken to Tokyo Tower by my section chief’s wife.

課長 の 奥さん は わたし を 東京タワー へ つれて いって くださいました。
My section chief’s wife took me to Tower Tower.

* 課長 の 奥さん (かちょう の おくさん)、 東京 (とうきょう)

わたし は 妹 に 自転車 を 買って やりました。
I bought my sister a bicycle.

* 自転車 (じてんしゃ)、 買って (かって)

昨日 わたし は 弟 に 料理 を 作って やりました。
Yesterday I cooked a meal for my brother.

* 昨日 (きのう)、 弟 (おとうと)、 料理 (りょうり)、 作って (つくって)

New verbs

  • いただきます – humble form of receive もらいます
  • くださいます – honorific form of give くれます
  • やります – give (apply to younger person or subordinate)
  • 招待します (しょうたいします) – invite
  • 親切に します (しんせつに します) – be kind to

な-adjective

  • 丁寧 「な」 (ていねい) – polite

い-adjective

  • 珍しい (めずらしい) – unusual

Nouns

  • ペット – pet
  • 閏年 (うるうどし) - leap year
  • 東京都 (とうきょうと) - Tokyo Metropolitan area
  • 息子 (むすこ) – my son
  • 娘 (むすめ) – my daughter
  • お寺 (おてら) – temple
2 thoughts on “11月17日レッスン(I3-161)

Leave a Reply

