11月3日レッスン(I3-161)


To continue with previous week, this week we learn:

  • Connecting nouns with verbs as a reason
  • Using “~ no de ~” with verbs, adjectives and nouns

Connecting nouns with verbs as a reason

Format is

  • [Noun] + [で] + verb

It is actually the same format as na-adjective.

Examples:

雨 で バス が 遅れました。
The bus was late due to the rain.

* 雨 (あめ)、 遅れました (おくれました)

台風 で 木 が 倒れました。
The free fell down because of the typhoon.

* 台風 (たいふう)、 木 (き)、 倒れました (たおれました)

交通事故 で 人 が けが を しました。
People were injured in the accident.

* 交通事故 (こうつうじこ)、 人 (ひと)

Using “~ no de ~”

“~ ので ~” is used to state reason/cause in a statement.

For example,

昨日 は 雨 な ので、 うち に いました。
Since it rained yesterday, I stayed at home.

* 昨日 (きのう)、 雨 (あめ)

Format:

[futsuu-kei verb] + [ので] + [verb]

OR

[futsuu-kei い-adjective] + [ので] + [verb]

OR

[futsuu-kei な-adjective] + [な] + [ので] + [verb]

OR

[futsuu-kei noun] + [な] + [ので] + [verb]

Examples:

友達 と 約束 が ある ので、 先に 帰ります。
I have to go back first since I have a date with my friend.

* 友達 (ともだち)、 約束 (やくそく)、 先に (さきに)、 帰ります (かえります)

時間 が なかった ので、 この 本 を 読まなかったん です。
I didn’t read this book because I didn’t have time.

* 時間 (じかん)、 本 (ほん)、 読まなかったん (よまなかったん)

よく 勉強した ので、 試験 に 合格しました。
I passed the examination because I studied hard.

* 勉強した (べんきょうした)、 試験 (しけん)、 合格しました (ごうかくしました)

今 工事中 な ので、 この 道 は 車 が 通れないん です。
Since this road is under construction, the cars cannot pass by it.

* 今 (いま)、 工事中 (こうじちゅう)、 道 (みち)、 車 (くるま)、 通れないん (とおれないん)

昨日 頭 が 痛かった ので、 どこ も 行けませんでした。
I couldn’t go anywhere yesterday because I had a headache.

* 昨日 (きのう)、 頭 (あたま)、 痛かった (いたかった)、 行けませんでした (いけませんでした)

おなか が 痛い ので、 帰って も いい です か。
Since I have stomachache, may I go home?

Additional information

These are information that I manage to find out from internet/books:

  1. When we use the te-form as a reason/cause, the action that follows after the reason cannot be of this type: commands, intentional statement and suggestions.
  2. “~ ので ~” is only use to state reason/cause for existed/existing situation or action. It cannot be used for others like opinions, choices, decisions, etc – you will have to use “~ から ~” instead.

and finally I did ask sensei what’s the difference between using the te-form and “~ ので ~” (since both are of the same nature) and he gave me examples of when to use:

Q. 昨日 パソコン を 買いました か。
Q. Did you buy the PC yesterday?
A. たかい ので、 買いません。
A. I didn’t buy it because it is expensive.

* 買いました (かいました)

Q. どうして 買いませんでした か。
Q. Why you didn’t buy it?
A. たかくて、 かいませんでした。
A. I didn’t buy it because it is expensive.

err…his explanation is that for the first pair statement, the main point is the reason while for the second pair of statements, the main point is the clause after the reason. >< I am still as confused as ever :/

Noun

  • 用事 (ようじ) - Something to do
Leave a Reply

