8月25日 と 9月8日 レッスン(I2-222)


Both week’s lesson:

  • Learning the passive form (ukemi-kei)
  • Various applications of the passive form


This is how to make the passive form of verbs:

Group III

  • きます -> こられます
  • します -> されます

Group II

  • たべます -> たべられます
  • おきます -> おきられます

Group I

  • あいます -> あわれます
  • まちます -> またれます
  • とります -> とられます
  • しにます -> しなれます
  • のみます -> のまれます
  • はこびます -> はこばれます
  • ききます -> きかれます
  • およぎます -> およがれます
  • こわします -> こわされます

Using passive form

We learnt quite a number of usages for this form.

For example,

私 は 兄 に ケーキ を 食べられました。
My brother ate my cake.
* 私 (わたし)、 あに (兄)、 食べられました (たべられました)

Format for the above type of usage,

[Subject] + は + [The one that carries out the action] + に + passive verb

Examples:

私 は 社長 に ほめられます。
I was praised by the company president.
* 社長 (しゃちょう)

Another usage is to describe a subject that has been affected by an action. It is usually involves a direct object.

Format,

[Subject] + は + [The one that carries out the action] + に + [direct object] + passive verb

For example,

友達 は こども に 時計 を 壊されました。
My friend’s clock had her watch broken by a child.
* 友達 (ともだち)、 時計 (とけい)、 壊されました (こわされました)

Examples:

課長 は 私 に レポート に ついて 聞かれました。
I asked my manager about that report.
* that’s my interpretation of the above statement.
* 課長 (かちょう)、 聞かれました (きかれました)

私 は 泥棒 に お金 を とられました。
I have my money stolen by a thief.
* 泥棒 (どろぼう)、 お金 (おかね)

私 は だれか に 傘 を もって いきました か。
My umbrella was taken by someone.
* 傘 (かさ)

We can also used the passive form to express the time that something has happened or what made it happened. Err..not very good at explaining 🙂

Examples,

あの ビル は 30年前 に たてられました。
That building was built 30 years ago.
* 前 (まえ)

お酒 は 米 から を つくられます。
Sake is made from grain.
* お酒 (おさけ)、 米 (こめ)

ビール は 麦 から つくられます。
Beer is made from wheat.
* 麦 (むぎ)

石油 は いろいろ な 国 へ 輸出します
Petroleum is exported to various countries.
* 石油 (せきゆ)、 国 (くに)、 輸出します (ゆしゅつします)

We can also apply “te imasu” with passive form…

この 本 は いろいろ な 国 で よまれて います。
This book is read in various countries.
* 本 (ほん)

原料 は 東南アジア から 輸入されて います。
(The country) imports raw material from South-East Asia.
* 東南アジア (とうなんアジア)、 原料 (げんりょう)、 輸入されて (ゆにゅうされて)

Particle examples

木村さん は 1年 に 2,3回 外国 へ 旅行 に 行きます。
Mr. Kimura will go for an overseas trip 2,3 times a year.
* 年 (ねん)、 回 (かい)、 外国 (がいこく)、 旅行 (りょこう)、 行きます (いきます)

New verbs

  • ほめます - praise
  • しかります – scold
  • とります – steal
  • 壊します (こわします) – breaks (transitive)
  • 分けます (わけます) – separate
  • 生産します (せいさんします) – produce
  • 検査します (けんさします) – inspect
  • 完成します (かんせいします) – complete/finish
  • 輸出します (ゆしゅつします) – export
  • 輸入します (ゆにゅうします) – import

New nouns

  • 泥棒 (どろぼう) – thief
  • 警官 (けいかん) – police officer
  • だれか – someone
  • 米 (こめ) – grain
  • 麦 (むぎ) – wheat
  • 原料 (げんりょう) – raw material
  • 材料 (ざいりょう) – ingredients
  • 石油 (せきゆ) – petroleum
  • タイヤ – tyre
  • 東南アジア (とうなんアジア) – South-East Asia
  • ヨーロッパ – Europe
  • パーセント – percent

Others

  • 約~ – about~
  • ~や ~や ~など – ~and, ~and, ~and so on.
  • バス の 時間 が わかりません。 木村さん に 調べて もらいます。
    * 時間 (じかん)、 調べて (しらべて)
  • 熱 が あります。 医者 に みて もらいます。
    * 熱 (ねつ)、 医者 (いしゃ)
  • 仕事 が いそがしい とき、 林さん に てつだって もらいます。
    * 仕事 (しごと)
  • バス が なかなか きません から、 とても ふべん です。
  • 私 は ほとんど 漢字 が わかりません。
    * 漢字 (かんじ)
  • 今度 の 金曜日 たぶん 会社 を 休みます。
    * 今度 (こんど)、 金曜日 (きんようび)、 会社 (かいしゃ)、 休みます (やすみます)
6 thoughts on “8月25日 と 9月8日 レッスン(I2-222)

  1. This site is amazing. You’ve done a beautiful job–and I learned something!

    ありがとうございました!本とに勉強になりましたわ。

  2. ところで、「あの ビル は 30前 に たてられました。」 = “That building was built 30 years ago.”って30の後には ”年” を書いてあるはずですか?

    ですからこうかも:「あの ビル は 30年 前 に たてられました。」

Leave a Reply

