6月23日レッスン(I2-222)


The week’s lesson:

  • The transitive and intransitive verbs
  • Using “~ te imasu” to describe a situation/condition.
  • Expressing regrets using the form “~ te shimaimashita”

Transitive and intransitive verbs

Sensei had briefly introduced the transitive and intransitive verbs in our last lesson (16th June). Today, he did explain more on these 2 kind of verbs. What’s a transitive and intransitive verbs?

Transitive verbs are called “他動詞(たどうし)” in Japanese. They are verbs that needs to requires/takes a direct object with usually the subject being omitted from the sentence form. They usually take this format

[subject (optional) +] [direct object] + particle-o (を) + verb

Intransitive verbs – “自動詞(じどうし)” – do not takes a direct object and their format is

[subject] + particle-ga (が) + verb

According to my Naoko Chino’s book, she said this (which I think is helpful 🙂 ):

The subjects of intransitive verbs are often inanimate objects, while the subjects of transitive verbs are almost always people, organizations, animals or animate objects.

They usually comes in pairs like the examples below:

Note: (T) – Transitive, (I) Intransitive

ドア が 開きます。(I)
(I) The door opens.

私 は ドア を 開けます。(T)
(I) open the door.

* 開きます (あきます)、 開けます (あけます)

ドア が 閉まります。(I)
The door closes.

私 は ドア を 閉めます。(T)
(I) close the door.

* 閉まります (しまります)、 閉めます (しめます)

車 が 止まります。(I)
The car stops.

私 は 車 を 止めます。(I)
(I) stop the car.

* 車 (くるま)、 止まります (とまります)、 止めます (とめます)

Since I don’t want to let the list of transitive/intransitive verbs that I can find (in books, online) to “clog” this post, I have decided to make another post that’s dedicated to this subject (please come back for the other post).

Using “~ te imasu” to describe a situation/condition

To continue from last lesson, we have learnt to use “~ te imasu” to describe repeated actions. This week, we learnt how to use “~ te imasu” to describe a situation/condition. We also utilise our brief knowledge of transitive and intransitive verbs here. For example,

紙 が 破れて います。
The paper is torned.

* 紙 (かみ)、 破れて (やぶれて)

We are using intransitive verbs here. I think the reasons are (1) the verb is intransitive, (2) applies to inanimate object, (3) the statement shows us just a state of being (on the paper).

More examples:

道 が 込んで います。
The street is crowded.
* 道 (みち)、 込んで (こんで)

道 が すいて います。
The street is emptied.

卵 が 割れて います。
The egg is smashed.
* 卵 (たまご)、割れて (われて)

花 が さいて います。
The flower blooms.
* 花 (はな)

We can combined the situational sentence with “kara” (because) like so:

この 窓 は 割れて います から、 なおして ください。
Please repair this window because it is broken.
* 窓 (まど)

この テレビ の ひも は 切れて います から、 見られません。
I am not able to watch the television because this television line has snapped.
* 切れて (きれて)、 見られません (みられません)

Notice that we don’t use the particle-ga here (which usually applies for intransitive verbs). It seems that if you use その、この、あの in front of the object, you will have to change the ga to wa. :/ I havent been successful in finding why but I suspect it is something to do with the usage of particle-wa and ga – which is entirely a whole subject in itself. I am still figuring how to use all these particles 😦 so let’s just take it as it is (until I understand further).

So back to the above statement, if we don’t use then the statement will be like this:

窓 が 割れて います から、 なおして ください。
Please repair the window because it is broken.

More examples:

カーテン が 閉まって います から、 くろい です。
It’s dark because the curtain is closed.
* 閉まって (しまって)

かぎ が 掛かって います から、 中 に 入りません。
You can’t go in as the the keys are locked.
* 掛かって (かかって)、 中 (なか)、入りません (はいりません)

道 が すいて います から、 早く 着きました。
I arrived early because the street is not crowded.
* 早く (はやく)、 着きました (つきました)

Q. この 椅子 に 座って も いい です か。
Q. Can I sit on this chair?

A. その 椅子 は 壊れて います よ。
A. That chair is broken.
* 椅子 (いす)、 座って (すわって)、 壊れて (こわれて)

The above answer implied that you can’t sit on the chair because it is broken.

この 袋 は 破れて います から、 ほか の を ください。
Please (use) another one as this bag is torn.
* 袋 (ふくろ)、破れて (やぶれて)

この びん は 割れて います から、 捨てて ください。
Please throw away this bottle as it is broken.
* 捨てて (すてて)

Expressing regrets using the form “~ te shimaimashita”

財布 を 忘れて しまいました。
I forgotten (to take) my wallet.
* 財布 (さいふ)、 忘れて (わすれて)

会議 に 遅れて しまいました。
I was late for the meeting.
* 会議 (かいぎ)、 遅れて (おくれて)

We are using “~ te shimaimashita” to express regrets over something that we have done. Actually “shimaimasu” has a in its own, i.e. “to put away” in English. However, for this week’s lesson, we are learning another aspect of the verb meaning when combining it with the te-form verbs.

More examples:

こたえ を まちがえて しまいました。
I made a mistake in my answer.

電車 に 鞄 を 忘れて しまいました。
I forgotten (to take) my bag in the train.
* 電車 (でんしゃ)、 鞄 (かばん)

電車 で 鞄 を なくして しまいました。
I lost my bag at the train.

住所 を 聞きました が、 忘れて しまいました。
Although I have heard the address, I still forgotten it.
* 住所 (じゅうしょ)、 聞きました (ききました)

地図 を もって いきました が、 道 を まちがえて しまいました。
Even though I have bought along a map, I still made a mistake (in finding the place).
* 地図 (ちず)

We can use the “~ n desu” form too to make the sentence “more regreftul.”

電車 に 鞄 を 忘れて しまったん です。

Note: shimaimasu -> ta-form futsuu-kei is shimatta (しまった).

Examples:

Q. どうして 車 で こなかったん です か。
Q. Why (you) didn’t come with the car?

A. 故障して しまったん です。
A. It has a breakdown.

* 故障して (こしょうして)

A-さん: あのう、 かりた 鞄 を タクシー に 忘れて しまいました。
Mr.A: Ah, the bag that you lent me, I forgotten to take it in the taxi.

B-さん: かまいません よ。 高い 物 じゃ ありません から。
Mr. B: Oh, never mind. It’s not an expensive thing.

A-さん: どうも すみません。
Mr. B: I’m so sorry.

* 高い (たかい)、 物 (もの)

Sensei did jump to the next week lesson a bit (using “~ te arimasu”) and new verbs for next week lesson but I decided to put those in my next post.

New Nouns

  • 布団(ふとん)- futon bed

Others

  • 道 の 前 に 車 が 止まって います。 ここ に 車 を 止めないで ください。
    The car stops in front of the street. Please do not stop here.* not really sure that’s the correct English translation – will check later.
    * 前 (まえ)
  • 電車 に 鞄 を 忘れて しまいました。 駅 の 前 で 財布 を 拾いました。
    I forgotten my bag in the train. I picked up (my) wallet in front of the train station.
    * 駅(えき)、 拾いました(ひろいました)。
4 thoughts on “6月23日レッスン(I2-222)

  1. カーテン が 閉まって います から、 ひろい です

    dark is くろい intead of ひろい, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

